Press Releases

Media Needs to Check Background of Pseudo-Medical Animal Rights Group and Cease Coverage of Alarmist and Unscientific Attack on Meat Products (8/1/2008)

GEORGIA

Dr. Elizabeth Andress
Associate Professor
Extension Family and Consumer Science Department
University of Georgia
(706) 542-3773
eandress@uga.edu

Dr. Missy Cody
Associate Professor of Nutrition
College of Health and Human Science
Georgia State University
404-651-1105
mcody@gsu.edu

Dr. Connie Crawley
Public Service Associate
Extension Family and Consumer Science Department
University of Georgia
(706) 542-8870
ccrawley@uga.edu


INDIANA

Donna Vandergraff
Extension Specialist, Foods and Nutrition
School of Consumer and Family Sciences
Purdue University
(765) 494-8538
vandergraff@cfs.purdue.edu
State coordinator of Expanded Food and Nutrition Education Program, which reaches 10,000 people annually in Indiana with food safety, nutrition and information about stretching limited food resources.

Dr. Connie Weaver
Distinguished Professor
Department of Consumer and Family Sciences
Purdue University
(765) 494-8231
weavercm@purdue.edu
Researches calcium levels that will maximize calcium retention and optimize bone mass in young women as a way to help prevent osteoporosis in later life.


IOWA

Dr. Donald Beitz
Charles F. Curtiss Distinguished Professor in Agriculture
Professor, Departments of Animal Science and Biochemistry
Iowa State University
(515) 294-5626
dcbeitz@iastate.edu
Healthful properties of animal-derived foods.

Dr. Paul Flakoll
Director, Center for Designing Foods to Improve Nutrition
Professor, Departments of Animal Science and Food Science and Human Nutrition
Iowa State University
(515) 294-8935
flakollp@iastate.edu

Dr. Kenneth Prusa
Professor
Departments of Food Science and Human Nutrition and Animal Science
Iowa State University
(515) 294-4323
kprusa@iastate.edu


KANSAS

Dr. Richard C. Baybutt
Associate Professor
Department of Human Nutrition
Kansas State University
(785) 532-0169
baybutt@ksu.edu

Dianna L. Schalles
Nutritionist
Lafene Student Health Center
Kansas State University
(785) 532-6595


MARYLAND

Dr. Brian J. Bequette
Assistant Professor
Department of Animal and Avian Sciences
University of Maryland
(301) 405-8457
bbequett@umd.edu
Ruminant, poultry nutrition.

Dr. Laurie Simms, Ph.D., MPH, RD
Professor
Department of Nutrition and Food Science
University of Maryland
(301) 405-4509
ls56@umail.umd.edu


MICHIGAN

Dr. David Klurfeld
Professor and Chairman
Department of Nutrition and Food Science
Wayne State University
(313) 577-2500
david.klurfeld@wayne.edu


MINNESOTA

Dr. Bill Schafer
Associate Professor
Department of Food Science/Nutrition
University of Minnesota
(612) 624-3224
wschafer@umn.edu


NEW YORK

Dr. Ruth Kava, Ph.D., R.D.
Director of Nutrition
American Council on Science and Health
(212) 362-7044
kava@acsh.org


OHIO

Dr. Susan Finn, Ph.D., RD, LD, FADA
Clinical Assistant Professor
College of Medicine and Public Health
Ohio State University
(614) 227-3065


SOUTH CAROLINA

Dr. Katherine Cason
Professor
Department of Food Science and Human Nutrition
Clemson University
(864) 656-0539
kcason@clemson.edu
Registered dietitian. Influences of socioeconomic and ecological factors on food and nutrient intake, food purchasing and preparation practices.

Dr. Marge Condrasky
Assistant Professor
Department of Food Science and Human Nutrition
Clemson University
(864) 656-6554
mcondra@clemson.edu
Human nutrition, food service operations and quantity food production.

Dr. Beth Kunkel
Professor
Department of Food Science and Human Nutrition
Clemson University
864-656-5690
bkunkel@clemson.edu


TENNESSEE

Dr. Janie L. Burney
Associate Professor and Nutrition Specialist
The University of Tennessee
Agricultural Extension Service
Family and Consumer Sciences
(865) 974-8198
jburney@utk.edu
http://fcs.tennessee.edu/facultystaff.htm

Dr. Nicholas Frank
Assistant Professor
Department of Large Animal Clinical Sciences
College of Veterinary Medicine
The University of Tennessee
(865) 974-7377
nfrank@utk.edu
www.vet.utk.edu/faculty/frank_n.shtml

Dr. Betty P. Greer
Associate Professor and Nutrition Specialist
The University of Tennessee
Agricultural Extension Service
Family and Consumer Sciences
(865) 974-7402
bgreer@utk.edu
http://fcs.tennessee.edu/facultystaff.htm


TEXAS

Dr. Jenna Anding
Assistant Professor and Nutrition Specialis
Department of Animal Science
Texas A&M University
Ph: 979-847-9227
j-anding@tamu.edu
Food security; adult obesity and weight management; consumer issues related to nutrition.

Dr. Debra Reed
Associate Professor and Nutrition Specialist
Department of Animal Science
Texas A&M University
(979) 845-2798
d-reed@tamu.edu
Food and nutrition education for limited resource audiences.

Dr. Sharon Robinson
Assistant Professor and Nutrition Specialist
Department of Animal Science
Texas A&M University
(979) 845-6379
s-robinson@tamu.edu
Nutrition throughout the life cycle, and food guidance programs.

Britta Thompson
Program Specialist
Department of Animal Science
Texas A&M University
(979) 845-6379
b-thompson@tamu.edu
Food protection management.

Dr. Peggy Van Laanen
Professor and Extension Food and Nutrition Specialist
Department of Animal Science
Texas A&M University
(979) 845-6379
P-vanlaanen@tamu.edu



American Meat Institute
1150 Connecticut Ave., NW, 12th Floor
Washington, DC 20036
David Ray
Vice President, Public Affairs
202/587-4243
http://www.meatami.com/

National Chicken Council
1015 15th Street NW
Suite 930
Washington DC 20005-2605

Richard Lobb
Director, Communications
202/296-2622
http://www.eatchicken.com/

National Turkey Federation
1225 New York Avenue, Suite 400
Washington, D.C. 20005
http://www.eatturkey.com/

Sherrie Rosenblatt
Senior Director, Public Relations
202/898-0100

 

 

Powered by Orchid Suites
Orchid ver. 4.7.6.