Home  >  Media Center  >  Third Party Experts    

Third Party Experts

Click on any category above to find and contact experts covering a wide rage of meat and poultry issues form economic concerns to food safety.

Agricultural Economics

  • Dr. David P. Anderson
    Professor and Economist
    Texas AgriLife Extension Service
    Texas A&M University
    danderson@tamu.edu
    979-845-4351

  • Dr. Dillon Feuz
    Applied Economics Department
    College of Agriculture
    Utah State University
    dillon.feuz@usu.edu
    435-797-2296

  • Dr. Dermot Hayes
    Pioneer Hi-Bred International Chair in Agribusiness
    Professor of Economics and Finance
    Department of Economics
    Iowa State University
    dhayes@iastate.edu
    515-294-6185

  • Dr. Ronald L. Plain
    Professor
    Department of Agricultural and Applied Economics
    University of Missouri-Columbia
    plainr@missouri.edu
    573-882-0134

  • Dr. Ted C. Schroeder
    Professor
    Department of Agriculture Economics
    Kansas State University
    tcs@ksu.edu
    785-532-4488

  • Dr. Lee L. Schulz
    Assistant Professor
    Department of Economics
    Iowa State University
    lschulz@iastate.edu
    515-294 3356


Animal Diseases

Top

  • Dr. Michael Apley
    Professor, Production Medicine/Clinical Pharmacology
    College of Veterinary Medicine
    Kansas State University
    mapley@vet.k-state.edu
    785-532-4167

  • Dr. H. Russell Cross
    Professor and Department Head
    Department of Animal Science
    Texas A&M University
    hrcross@tamu.edu
    979-845-1543

  • Dr. Dan Grooms
    Associate Professor, College of Agriculture
    National Food Safety and Toxicology Center
    Michigan State University
    groomsd@cvm.msu.edu
    517-432-3100, ext. 111

  • Dr. Will Hueston
    Director
    Center for Animal Health and Food Safety
    University of Minnesota
    huest001@umn.edu
    612-625-8709

  • Dr. H. Scott Hurd
    Associate Professor, Veterinary Diagnostic and Production Animal Medicine
    College of Veterinary Medicine
    Iowa State University
    shurd@iastate.edu
    515-294-7905

  • Dr. Derek Mosier
    Professor
    Department of Diagnostic Medicine Pathobiology
    Kansas State University
    dmosier@vet.ksu.edu
    785-532-4410


Animal Welfare: Humane Handling of Livestock

Top

  • Dr. Temple Grandin
    Professor
    Department of Animal Science
    Colorado State University
    Cheryl.miller@colostate.edu
    970-229-0703

  • Dr. Dan Hale
    Professor and Extension Meat Specialist
    Department of Animal Science
    Texas A&M University
    dhale@tamu.edu
    979-845-2053

  • Dr. John J. McGlone
    Professor and Institutional Official
    Department of Animal and Food Science
    Director, Animal Care Services
    Texas Tech University
    john.mcglone@ttu.edu
    806-742-2805, ext 246

  • Dr. Ed Pajor
    Professor, Animal Behavior and Welfare
    Research Leader, Pain and Animal Welfare Group
    University of Calgary
    eapajor@ucalgary.ca
    403-210-7328

  • Dr. Janice Swanson
    Chair, Professor and Director of Animal Welfare
    Department of Animal Science
    Michigan State University
    swansoj@anr.msu.edu
    517-355-8383


Animal Welfare:Poultry

Top

  • Dr. Bruce A. Webster
    Professor
    Poultry Science
    University of Georgia
    bwebster@uga.edu
    706-542-9154


Bacterial Pathogens

Top

    Dr. Gary R. Acuff
    Professor, Food Microbiology
    Director, Center for Food Safety
    Texas A&M University
    gacuff@tamu.edu
    409-845-4402

  • Dr. Mindy Brashears
    Director, International Center for Food Industry Excellence
    Professor of Food Safety and Public Health
    Department of Animal and Food Sciences
    Texas Tech University
    mindy.brashears@ttu.edu
    806-742-2469

  • Dr. Catherine Cutter
    Associate Professor of Food Science and Food Safety Extension; Specialist- Muscle Foods
    Department of Food Science
    Penn State University
    cnc3@psu.edu
    814-865-8862

  • Dr. James Dickson
    Professor, Department of Animal Science
    Director, Food Safety Consortium
    Iowa State University
    jdickson@iastate.edu
    515-294-4733

  • Dr. Kathleen Glass
    Senior Scientist
    Food Research Institute
    University of Wisconsin-Madison
    kglass@wisc.edu
    608-263-6935

  • Dr. Jeff LeJeune
    Professor, Food Safety
    College of Veterinary Medicine
    The Ohio State University
    LeJeune.3@osu.edu
    330-263-3677

  • Dr. Guy Loneragan
    Professor
    College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources
    Texas Tech University
    guy.loneragan@ttu.edu
    806-742-2805 ext. 268

  • Dr. Randall K. Phebus
    Professor
    Department of Animal Sciences and Industry
    Kansas State University
    phebus@ksu.edu
    785-532-1215

  • Dr. Donald W. Schaffner
    Professor and Extension Specialist in Food Science
    Department of Food Science
    Rutgers University
    schaffner@aesop.rutgers.edu
    732-982-7475

  • Dr. John N. Sofos
    Professor
    Department of Animal Science
    Colorado State University
    john.sofos@colostate.edu
    970-491-7703

  • Dr. Martin Wiedmann
    Professor
    Department of Food and Science
    Cornell University
    mw16@cornell.edu
    607-254-2838


Consumer Behavior

Top

  • Dr. Christie Bruhn
    Consumer Food Marketing Specialist
    Department of Food Science and Technology
    University of California, Davis
    cmbruhn@ucdavis.edu
    530-752-2774

  • Dr. Donald W. Schaffner
    Professor and Extension Specialist in Food Science
    Department of Food Science
    Rutgers University
    schaffner@aesop.rutgers.edu
    732-982-7475


Environmental Issues

Top

  • Dr. Dale E. Bauman
    Liberty Hyde Bailey Professor Emeritus
    Department of Animal Science and Division of Nutritional Sciences
    Cornell University
    deb6@cornell.edu
    607-255-2262

  • Dr. Jude L. Capper
    Livestock Sustainability Consultant; Adjunct Professor
    Washington State University
    capper@wsu.edu
    607-379-9229

  • Dr. Martin Heller
    Research Fellow
    Center for Sustainable Systems
    University of Michigan
    mcheller@umich.edu
    734-474-7166

  • Dr. Jim Russell
    Professor
    Department of Animal Science
    Iowa State University
    jrussell@iastate.edu
    515-294-4631


Exporting, International Trade Issues

Top

    • Dr. Dermot Hayes
      Pioneer Hi-Bred International Chair in Agribusiness
      Professor of Economics and Finance
      Department of Economics
      Iowa State University
      dhayes@iastate.edu
      515-294-6185


Food Allergies

Top

  • Dr. Joe L. Baumert
    Assistant Professor, Department of Food Science and Technology
    Co-Director – Food Allergy Research and Resource Program
    University of Nebraska
    baumert2@unl.edu
    402-472-3070

  • Dr. Steve L. Taylor
    Professor
    Department of Food Science and Technology
    University of Nebraska
    staylor2@unl.edu
    402-472-2833


Food and Meat Inspection

Top

  • Dr. Kerri B. Harris
    President/CEO, International HACCP Alliance
    Associate Professor
    Texas A&M University
    kharris@tamu.edu
    979-862-3643

  • Dr. Edward Mills
    Associate Professor
    Department of Animal Science
    Penn State University
    emills@psu.edu
    814-865-2394

  • Dr. Donald W. Schaffner
    Professor and Extension Specialist in Food Science
    Department of Food Science
    Rutgers University
    schaffner@aesop.rutgers.edu
    732-982-7475


Food Safety and Sanitation

Top

  • Dr. Gary R. Acuff
    Professor, Food Microbiology
    Director, Center for Food Safety
    Texas A&M University
    gacuff@tamu.edu
    409-845-4402

  • Dr. Keith Belk
    Professor, Center for Meat Safety and Quality
    Department of Animal Sciences
    Colorado State University
    keith.belk@colostate.edu
    970-491-5826

  • Dr. Kerri B. Harris
    President/CEO, International HACCP Alliance
    Associate Professor
    Texas A&M University
    kharris@tamu.edu
    979-862-3643

  • Dr. Randall K. Phebus
    Professor
    Department of Animal Sciences and Industry
    Kansas State University
    phebus@ksu.edu
    785-532-1215

  • Dr. Donald W. Schaffner
    Professor and Extension Specialist in Food Science
    Department of Food Science
    Rutgers University
    schaffner@aesop.rutgers.edu
    732-982-7475

  • Dr. John N. Sofos
    Professor
    Department of Animal Science
    Colorado State University
    john.sofos@colostate.edu
    970-491-7703


Food Safety Technologies

Top

  • Dr. Keith Belk
    Professor, Center for Meat Safety and Quality
    Department of Animal Sciences
    Colorado State University
    keith.belk@colostate.edu
    970-491-5826

  • Dr. Liz Boyle
    Professor/Extension Specialist
    Kansas State University
    lboyle@k-state.edu
    785-532-1247

  • Dr. Mindy Brashears
    Director, International Center for Food Industry Excellence
    Professor of Food Safety and Public Health
    Department of Animal and Food Sciences
    Texas Tech University
    mindy.brashears@ttu.edu
    806-742-2469

  • Dr. Christie Bratcher
    Assistant Professor, Meat Science
    Auburn University
    cbratcher@auburn.edu
    334-844-1517

  • Dr. Catherine Cutter
    Associate Professor of Food Science and Food Safety Extension; Specialist- Muscle Foods
    Department of Food Science
    Penn State University
    cnc3@psu.edu
    814-865-8862

  • Dr. Randall K. Phebus
    Professor
    Department of Animal Sciences and Industry
    Kansas State University
    phebus@ksu.edu
    785-532-1215

  • Dr. Donald W. Schaffner
    Professor and Extension Specialist in Food Science
    Department of Food Science
    Rutgers University
    schaffner@aesop.rutgers.edu
    732-982-7475

  • Dr. Joe Sebranek
    Professor
    Department of Animal Science; Department of Food Science and Technology
    Iowa State University
    sebranek@iastate.edu
    515-294-1091

  • Dr. John N. Sofos
    Professor
    Department of Animal Science
    Colorado State University
    john.sofos@colostate.edu
    970-491-7703


Food Security and Biosecurity

Top

  • Dr. Keith Belk
    Professor, Center for Meat Safety and Quality
    Department of Animal Sciences
    Colorado State University
    keith.belk@colostate.edu
    970-491-5826

  • Dr. Randall K. Phebus
    Professor
    Department of Animal Sciences and Industry
    Kansas State University
    phebus@ksu.edu
    785-532-1215


Labeling

Top

  • Dr. Catherine Cutter
    Associate Professor of Food Science and Food Safety Extension; Specialist- Muscle Foods
    Department of Food Science
    Penn State University
    cnc3@psu.edu
    814-865-8862

  • Dr. Edward Mills
    Associate Professor
    Department of Animal Science
    Penn State University
    emills@psu.edu
    814-865-2394


Livestock Production

Top

  • Dr. Keith Belk
    Professor, Center for Meat Safety and Quality
    Department of Animal Sciences
    Colorado State University
    keith.belk@colostate.edu
    970-491-5826

  • Dr. Jim Russell
    Professor
    Department of Animal Science
    Iowa State University
    jrussell@iastate.edu
    515-294-4631


Meat Science/Meat Processing

Top

  • Dr. Keith Belk
    Professor, Center for Meat Safety and Quality
    Department of Animal Sciences
    Colorado State University
    keith.belk@colostate.edu
    970-491-5826

  • Dr. Liz Boyle
    Professor/Extension Specialist
    Kansas State University
    lboyle@k-state.edu
    785-532-1247

  • Dr. Christie Bratcher
    Assistant Professor, Meat Science
    Auburn University
    cbratcher@auburn.edu
    334-844-1517

  • Dr. Robert Delmore
    Professor
    Department of Animal Science
    Colorado State University
    robert.delmore@colostate.edu
    970-491-1164

  • Dr. Edward Mills
    Associate Professor
    Department of Animal Science
    Penn State University
    emills@psu.edu
    814-865-2394

  • Dr. Joe Sebranek
    Professor
    Department of Animal Science; Department of Food Science and Technology
    Iowa State University
    sebranek@iastate.edu
    515-294-1091

  • Dr. Deborah VanOverbeke
    Associate Professor
    Department of Animal Science
    Oklahoma State University
    deb.vanoverbeke@okstate.edu
    405-744-9262


Nitrate/Nitrite

Top

  • Dr. Nathan S. Bryan
    Assistant Professor
    Texas Therapeutics Institute
    University of Texas Health Science Center
    Nathan.Bryan@uth.tmc.edu
    713-500-2439

  • Dr. James R. Coughlin
    Consultant in Food, Nutritional, Chemical Toxicology and Safety
    President, Coughlin and Associates
    jrcoughlin@cox.net
    949-916-6217

  • Dr. Andrew Milkowski
    Adjunct Professor, Animal Sciences, Muscle Biology Laboratory
    University of Wisconsin
    milkowski@wisc.edu
    608-262-1606

  • Dr. Joe Sebranek
    Professor
    Department of Animal Science; Department of Food Science and Technology
    Iowa State University
    sebranek@iastate.edu
    515-294-1091


Nutritional

Top

  • Dr. Keith-Thomas Ayoob
    Associate Professor
    Department of Pediatrics
    Albert Einstein College of Medicine
    ktayoob@msn.com
    718-430-3970 ext. 6412

  • Dr. Kerri B. Harris
    President/CEO, International HACCP Alliance
    Associate Professor
    Texas A&M University
    kharris@tamu.edu
    979-862-3643

  • Dr. Connie Weaver
    Distinguished Professor and Department Head
    Purdue University
    weavercm@purdue.edu
    765-494-8237


Toxicology

Top

  • Dr. James R. Coughlin
    Consultant in Food, Nutritional, Chemical Toxicology and Safety
    President, Coughlin and Associates
    jrcoughlin@cox.net
    949-916-6217

  • Dr. Mary Alice Smith
    Associate Professor
    Department of Environmental Health Science
    University of Georgia
    masmith@uga.edu
    706-542-1599

  • Dr. Carl Winter
    Extension Food Toxicologist
    Department of Food Science and Technology
    University of California-Davis
    ckwinter@ucdavis.edu
    530-752-5448